This post was written more than two years ago. The content or information below may no longer be accurate.

This years ACM Songwriting Competition was a huge success! This is one of the biggest events in the ACM calendar, seeing over 100 entries for the competition. 13 were shortlisted to perform their chosen song live at the music venue, the Boileroom in Guildford.

ACM invited down a Music Industry guest to judge the event and choose the winner. This year we were lucky to have Rich Holly from Peermusic Publishing who announced that George Peploe with his song ‘Phonecall Away‘ was the winner.

“It was a privilege to judge this year’s ACM Song Writing Competition. The standard was particularly high this year and it was great to see the students being so supportive of each other. It was really hard to choose a winner but I felt ‘Phonecall Away’ by George Peploe struck an instant, powerful and emotive connection with the listener, which, to me, is a sign of a great song.”
Rich Holly Peermusic Publishing

He listened to all the artists and then decided and announced the winner at the end of the evening.

“I can’t believe I won the ACM Songwriting Competition! The Competition was fierce this year. I would like to thank Rich from Peermusic for choosing my song. This is song is very personal to me and I’m very happy other people connected with it. Looking forward to the studio time and spending the vouchers!”
George Peploe Winner of ACM’s Songwriting Competition 2012

George has won £400 worth of Andertons Music Vouchers and some studio time.

ACM also invited back last years winner Karina Vismara who performed her winning song ‘Only You’ to a rapturous applause! She also performed a brand new song for all to hear.

ACM would like to thank all the artists who applied for this competition and the 13 shortlisted: Amy Gould, Sophy Jansen, Joe Hamilton, Emma O’Gorman, Jonny Winston, Alex Stamp, Lawrie Pattison, Sam Wills, Tamsyn Phillips, Joy Mumford, Martha Paton and Penny Nicholls who performed exceptionally well. ACM is really looking forward to next years competition.